Spectrum

The range of creativity.

Last One Standing Part Four

Leave a comment

“You can count on one thing, and that would be me bringing a good show.”

——-

Little fluttering motions seemed to be coursing through her tiny frame. Every neuron was electrified. Every fiber in her being was thrumming. She couldn’t seem to hold still. Be likeable. How was a person likeable? What was it that others found endearing? The redhead wasn’t sure. She had certainly never tried to please others in her lifetime, and at this moment, seriously regretted it. Alarika frowned, carefully keeping herself from chewing on her bottom lip so that she wouldn’t chew the lipstick off. She shifted on the uncomfortable metal bench in the white-washed hall. It was incredibly sterile, and reminded the girl of a hospital room. Alarika’s eyes were glued to the television screen. Zachary Lumos was introducing the first tribute. Emrys Pierce. She watched the ginger walk over to Lumos and give him a handshake before taking a seat.

“So Nathan,” Zachary Lumos began, a wide smile plastered on his caked face (apparently guy makeup was trending, and Lumos didn’t quite have enough light in his dressing room to see the amount of eyeliner rimming his eyes.) “District One, you’re clearly no stranger to luxury. What’s something that’s surprised you the most about the Capitol?” Lumos had an arrogant aura about him that was almost imperceptible, but Alarika Fox was observant, and she noticed it rather easily.

“Well Zachary, I think the most surprising thing about the Capitol would be it’s people. They’re so lovely and talented. I mean my designers and stylists have been so wonderful so far.” Zachary nodded. “You hear that folks. You’re all what make the Capitol special.” The crowd cheered. Alarika sneered. Nathan’s grin was so fake. She could see right through his attempt at being agreeable. Within no time, Nathan was gone and in his place sat the redheaded Chastity Hamilton-Reed. Alarika pursed her lips and leaned forward in her seat. Her attention hooked on the girl with a murderously sly look cast about her face. Zachary kissed her knuckles after his introduction of her and sat down. “So, Chastity, have you been living up to your name or is there a special someone back there in District One?”

The redhead smiled demurely at the host. “Maybe there is and maybe there isn’t Zachary.”

The man smiled, “oh don’t be like that! Tell us!”

“Well Zachary,” the redhead motioned for him to come in closer, “the truth is,” she smiled sweetly batting her eyelashes before a smirk settled into place, “I don’t kiss and tell.”

Zachary laughed, “such a shame! You are such a delight. Tell me now, what are you planning on doing to ensure your victory?”

Chastity laughed before smiling agreeably. “Well if I told you, I would be letting myself open for the other tributes wouldn’t I? It’s nothing special though Zachary. I’m just going to give my all.”

“I’m sure you will. Ladies and Gentlemen. Chastity Hamilton-Reed!” Alarika watched as Chastity left the stage. Next gracing the stage with his presence was William Shimizuno. He quickly sat down for his interview. “So William, a strapping young lad like you, I must say I was not shocked to see the ladies fawning over you. What do you think of the attention you’re receiving?”

Will flipped his hair back. “Well, Zachary, it’s pretty hard not to be attracted to this, am I right?”

“Got that right. What do you think about being a tribute?”

“Well, Zachary, I’ve been training for this my whole life. I’m able, I’m strong, I’m ready.”

“You bet you are. Everyone give it up for William Shimizuno!”

Will nodded to the crowd, and Rika rolled her eyes at the group of girls who swooned and practically fell over. Clearly he was an overnight heartthrob. Alice Fairchild went through her interview showing the world that she may have a sweet face, but she was tough competition. Leander appeared to be a playful but cunning boy, and Poppy was obviously very smart. Declan and Emlyn had used the starcrossed lovers theme to gain sympathy from the crowd. Alarika wasn’t given the opportunity to watch their interviews as she and Delfin had been pulled aside for a quick pep talk from Ravensdale.

“LISTEN UP YOU TWO! YOU ARE TO GO OUT THERE AND BE MANLY. THEY’RE ONLY GOING TO LIKE YOU IF YOU’RE MANLY, AND IF THEY DON’T LIKE YOU, YOU WILL DIE! ARGO DON’T ACT STUPID. FOX DON’T ACT ARROGANT. BE MANLY!”

Alarika nodded, fighting the urge to roll her eyes, and nudging Delfin hard in the side to quell any idiotic comment he may have. They didn’t have the time for Ravensdale to be pissed off. The trio quickly returned just in time to hear the last question for Emlyn and Delfin to prepare to go onstage. “Emlyn, one last question. What’s it like finding out you have a brother who was taken away to a different district? Especially a twin brother.”

Emlyn smiled sweetly, “it’s like, finding a piece of me. It’s both amazing, and really really odd.” Emlyn made her exit. Delfin flashed Rika a smirk before heading out into the stage. He shook hands with Zachary, before the two men took a seat. “So Delfin, tell me, what’s the oddest thing that’s happened to you since you boarded that train?”

“I met Jack Ravensdale.” The smirk on Delfin’s face made the insides of Rika’s stomach twist. She knew was going to do something to get himself into trouble, but she couldn’t find it in herself to care much. She was next.

“Oh? And what about Jack Ravensdale is so odd? He’s your mentor yes?”

“He is. How can I begin to describe Jack Ravensdale?” Delfin chuckled. “How about with a song?”

“A song? Would you all like that?” Lumos asked the crowd, which cheered in response. “Why not then?”

Delfin cleared his throat and began singing to the tune of BINGO, “MY NAME IS JACK RAVENSDALE AND MANLY IS MY NAME-O
M-A-N-LY WHOA!
M-A-N-LY WHOA!
M-A-N-LY WHOA!
AND MANLY IS MY NAME-O
I ONCE WON ONE OF THE HUNGER GAMES AND EARNED SO MUCH FAME-O
M-A-N-LY WHOA!
M-A-N-LY WHOA!
M-A-N-LY WHOA!
AND MANLY IS MY NAME-O!
I MENTOR YOUNG TRIBUTES NOW AND KEEP THEM FROM SHAME-O
M-A-N-LY WHOA!
M-A-N-LY WHOA!
M-A-N-LY WHOA!
AND MANLY IS MY NAME-O!”

The crowd burst into raucous applause. Risk couldn’t keep the laughter in. It bubbled out from within her. Ravensdale was fuming. “I’M GOING TO KILL THAT WEAK SON OF A SQUISHED TOMATO LIKE A TINY ANT!” His fists were clenched, and Rika doubled over as her laughter multiplied. She could barely breathe.

“Wow, that was, very entertaining,” Zachary responded as he got over his laughter. “Wow. Thank you so much. I’m afraid we’re out of time. Good luck. Delfin Argo everyone!” Delfin stepped off, and Rika headed on. She didn’t hear what was said as she walked towards her seat. “Hello there Alarika!”

“Good evening Zachary,” Rika smiled sweetly.

“You’ve got a charming name. What does it mean?”

“Well thank you Zachary. It means ‘powerful ruler.'”

“Well I for one certainly think you’re powerful enough to rule out your competition.”

“Thank you.”

“Tell me, what is your biggest fear?”

“Honestly, my biggest fear is to be forgotten. Just another faded memory.”

“Tell you what. You raise hell in this year’s games, and you’ll never be forgotten. Am I right folks?” Zachary nodded as the crowd cheered.

“You can count on one thing, and that would be me bringing a good show.”

“That’s the spirit! Thank you Miss Fox. Ladies and Gents, Alarika Fox!”

Rika had came backstage to find Ravensdale and Delfin arguing about how ‘singing about Ravensdale with Zachary Lumos was not manly’ and chose widely to stay out of it. Emrys had taken the stage next and spoken of his love for fashion, and Celine had given off an adorably nervous vibe, pushing her glasses up, and trying not to hide behind her hair. Timothy took the stage next. He was rowdy, and the audience loved him.

“So,” Zachary began, “Timothy Sherick. Tim, Tim, Tim. Who do you think is your biggest competition here?”

“My biggest competition? Well Zach, I find that I’m going to be quite some competition for most, but as for me, I think my biggest competition would be Chastity Hamilton-Reed.”

“Oh yeah? How so?”

“She seems lethal. Although no doubts most of the tributes already want to kill me. I can’t help that the ladies fancy me despite the fact that they know I’m a heartbreaker.”

“Indeed you are. And it’s working out quite well for you no? How many girlfriends have you had 67?”

“I’ve had 69, but you were close enough.”

“So what do you think is your greatest strength?”

“I’m always surviving, and I put up one hell of a fight. I’m sure that I can win this. I will win this.”

“Yes, well, good luck to you my friend. Timothy Sherick everyone. A fine man.” Tim exited the stage. Lily Hunt’s interview passed, and so did Benjamin Gray’s. Rika practically snorted through Quincy’s interview as the girl had the oddest answers. She figured that the girl was trying to play coy and not reveal too much information to the other tributes. Elye and Adalyn’s interviews were more bland as the two were awfully nice, but Elye at least expressed a deep seated hatred for Timothy. Rika was satisfied. The rest of the interviews were a blur. Rika went back to her room and collapsed in her bed. She needed to be up early for day one of training. There was so much to do!

Leave a comment